Monday, January 31, 2011

Young artists

Yesterday I have seen that there's an exposition of young artists who made paintings of Utrecht.

Will check it out, it's always interesting to see paintings of your own town.. I need to hurry because the last day is the 6th of February..

p.s. I will keep you informed about my glasses.. ;)

Sunday, January 30, 2011


Like many others of my age... I need glasses. So I have been to Pearl to select me one... :)

Saturday, January 29, 2011


Lady thinking about.....

Friday, January 28, 2011


I follow the trend of cloud pictures.. it's a shot of the reformed church across the street.

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Old bike

A sight so familiar I usually don't spot it, but a way this one did.. I call the composition old bike leaning against old houses.

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Black Roses

Black roses.... Black flowers for some reason fascinatie me, they are not really black of course, but more deep purple.

Tuesday, January 25, 2011


Went last weekend to Brothers in Bunnik, I had a blast and danced all night, I loved it. There was no other option than dancing, the music was so loud a conversation was simply impossible..

Monday, January 24, 2011


Cheese display at the Cheese specialist..

Sunday, January 23, 2011

Statue of Freedom

The statue of freedom at the dome square in Utrecht. A place with soo much of 2000 years of history that I always feel allkinds of emotions putting MY feet there. I could spend a blog only with details of this square. The romans started the city there, the city developed from that point, the sacred has it's dominion at that spot, also the profane, the revoluitons and revolts, the devotion and frustrations.. the worldly and provincial.. you all feel it all stuck to that piece of ground...

Saturday, January 22, 2011

Empty Heineken..

I saw this down town, a left over of someones friday night out.

Friday, January 21, 2011

Paintings and feet

Composition of paintings and feet.

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Are the wine glasses clean?

Nice shot, I saw this waitress checking all the wine glasses about 1 min a glass.
Everything in the dining room of this hotel needed to be impeccable...

Wednesday, January 19, 2011


Shot of the lights of the A15 highway to Rotterdam...

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Kees van Dongen

A poster anouncing that a book with the complete grafic work of Kees van Dongen is for sale at art shop Juffermans, only for 39,95 euro, need to check that out!

Monday, January 17, 2011


Buddha at restaurant Petrus where I had a drink with David yesterday. Petrus is one of the few trendy restaurants in Woerden.

Sunday, January 16, 2011


Lunch with a view on Janskerkhof (St. Johns graveyard).

Saturday, January 15, 2011

The Sealed Stone

A boulder has been placed at the corner of this canal house in Utrecht. It has been placed there to protect the corner for damage of carriage weels. The story goes that devil's would come at night and shoot marbles with it. Neighbours were fed up with the noices and have put the stone on a chain. This after a priest had driven out the the devils. Allready as far back as 1520 the scoffing stone was called 'the sealed stone'.

It's really true... :)

Thursday, January 13, 2011

The stone on a chain

I passed bye many times. But learned not long ago what the meaning is of the stone on a chain. If you look carfully to the picture you see that the stone at the corner of the house is tyed with a chain....

I will tell tomorrow how that came to be...

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

St. Nicholas

Shot of the museum exhibition at the Nicolai church. The tower and part of the church is property of the city museum. I can't explain why, but I do like this shot.

Tuesday, January 11, 2011


This blog is from Holland.. :) Somebody put out the flag yesterday. I wonder why, it is not a national flag day, nor the birthday of somebody from the Royal house (then an orange bannar should be attached to it)...

I guess he or she just felt he had to do it...

Monday, January 10, 2011

3512 didn't made it

About a year and a half ago I did a posting on restaurant 3512 in Utrecht. I passed bye this weekend and found out they didn't made it.


Sunday, January 9, 2011

Movie poster

So ladies be warned ....

Saturday, January 8, 2011

Awesome breads

This stand at the saterday market sells awesome bread.

I figure it isn't that difficult to make.

Friday, January 7, 2011


De Molenstraat or The Mill Street, just around the corner from where I live.

Thursday, January 6, 2011


Time for another coffee...

Wednesday, January 5, 2011


A sandwich in a train to Rotterdam.

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

Two people

Couple in the train, somehow they fascinated me. They were a couple but didn't look at each other, or spoke a word to eachother. There was no conflict in their eyes. Yet I suspected they were together due to some body gestures. Signs of being used to eachother. Or I was completely wrong they were simply ignorant of each other living in their own thought world...

Monday, January 3, 2011


I could use some salty air. This is a cartoon cover, sometimes they are of wonderful design..

Sunday, January 2, 2011


Have a slice for the new year! :)

Shot of the shopwindow of the tarte architect (

Saturday, January 1, 2011

Happy New Year!

I thought of an original picture for the new year: it's my new years lot. I did win something, 45 Euro's! So that is not bad at all!
My wish for you is that this new year may bring you also something nice!